Sky TV to go satellite dish-free in 2018

images-1

Sky is to offer a complete subscription television package without a satellite dish for the first time.

From 2018, people who cannot have a dish installed will be able to receive Sky over the internet instead.

The company said the move would help it reach a further six million customers across Europe.

One analyst said the development was a “logical step”, but customers would need to live in an area with fast broadband speeds to benefit.

I don’t think Sky is giving up on other things but they see this as an opportunity,” said Toby Syfret, TV analyst at the Enders consultancy.

There are about two million households in the UK, mostly in dense urban areas, where people can’t put up dishes.

Satellite dish

“If they can offer the full Sky experience without the need for a dish, that is broadening their offer.

“But there will be questions about which homes can get it. Not everybody has the necessary broadband speed.”

Sky is also facing competition from new rivals such as BT and TalkTalk, which deliver pay-TV over the internet.

Sky already sells its Now TV streaming service, offering a small selection of television channels and a library of on-demand programmes over the internet.

However, the company told the BBC its new dish-free option was designed to provide a more complete service.

Details of which channels will be carried, and whether the service will support ultra-high definition 4K broadcasts have yet to be decided.

The company is currently in a dispute with broadcaster Discovery, which has threatened to remove its 12 channelsfrom Sky on 1 February.

It claims Sky does not pay a “fair price” for its channels – but Sky says Discovery’s threat is about “commercial self-interest”.

On Wednesday, the pay-TV giant reported a 9% fall in operating profits after paying more for broadcast rights to Premier League football matches.

9 thoughts on “Sky TV to go satellite dish-free in 2018”

  1. I’ve been surfing onlin more than 3 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, iff all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, thhe webb will be a lot ore useful than ever before.|
    I could not resist commenting. Well written!|
    I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can not find
    your email subscription hyperlink or ndwsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please allow me recognize in order that I
    may subscribe. Thanks.|
    It is the bet time tto make some pllans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I hafe reaad his post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or tips.

    Maybe you could write next articles referring to thiks article.
    I desire to read more things about it!|
    It’s the best time too make a few plans for the long runn and it
    iis time to be happy.I have learn this submit and if I may
    just I wish to counsel you some fascinating things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you could write subsequent articles
    referring to this article. I desire to learn more things approximately it!|
    I’ve beeen browsing on-line greater than three hoirs nowadays,
    but I never found any fascinating article luke yours. It’s lovely value eenough
    for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers maqde good content as
    you proably did, the weeb will likely be much more userful
    than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its nice dialogue on the topic of this paragraph
    at thhis place att this weblog, I havbe reazd all that, so now me also commenting here.|
    I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet users, its really really nice piece of writing on building
    up new blog.|
    Wow, this piece off writing is pleasant, my younger sister is analyzing
    these things, so I amm going to convey her.|
    Saved as a favorite, Ilove your wweb site!|
    Way cool! Somme extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post plus the rest of the site is also very good.|
    Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going too revisit yet again since i have book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest wayy to change, may you be rich and continue too help others.|
    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot oof times it’s challenging to get
    that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog
    loads very quick for me on Firefox. Outstanding Blog!|
    These are in fact impressive ideas in onn the topic of blogging.

    You have touched some fastidious points here. Any way keep up wrinting.|
    Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guygs to ourr blogroll.|
    Hey! Someone in my Myspace roup shaed this website with us so I came to give it
    a look. I’m definitewly enjoying the information. I’m bookmasrking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and excellent design.|
    I really like what youu gyys are up too. Thiss kind of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the superb wrks guys I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.|
    Hey would you mind sharing which blog platfform you’re working with?
    I’m planning to start mmy own blog soon but I’m having a difficult
    time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reasopn I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs annd I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!|
    Helloo would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your bpog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog lolads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at
    a reasonable price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!|
    I like it when foklks get together and sjare opinions.

    Greaqt website, stick with it!|
    Thank you for thee good writeup. It in faqct was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how can wwe communicate?|
    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Opera.
    I’m not sure if this iss a format issue or something to
    do ith web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.

    The design look great though! Hope you get the problem solved soon. Thanks|
    This is a topic that’s close too my heart… Thank you! Exactly where are your contact details though?|
    It’s very simple to find out any matter on net as compared to textbooks,
    as I found this article att this website.|
    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d
    like to send you an e-mail. I’ve goot some suggestions for your blog you
    might bbe interested in hearing. Eitber way, great website and I look forward tto seeing it improve over time.|
    Hey there! I’ve been following your blog for a whbile now and finally
    got thee bravery to goo ahead and give you a shout out from
    Huffman Tx! Just wanted to tell youu kep up the good work!|
    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your
    blog on my ilhone duuring lunch break. I really like the
    information you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI,just 3G .. Anyhow, very
    good blog!|
    Its like you read my thoughts! You applear to understand so much
    approximately this, such as you wrote the book in it or something.

    I feel thaat you can do with a few p.c. to force the mesasage homke a bit, however instead of that, that
    is wonderful blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.|
    I visited various websites but the audio feature for audio songs
    existing at this site is actually marvelous.|
    Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar
    one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?

    If so how do you stop it, any pougin or anything you caan recommend?
    I geet so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It iis the little changes that produce
    the biggest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!|
    I truly love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you build this
    amazing site yourself? Please reply back aas I’m planning to create my
    own blog and want to learn where you gott this from or just what
    the theme iis named. Kudos!|
    Hello there! This blog post could not be written much better!
    Going through this article reminds me of mmy previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I most certainly will send this article to him.
    Fairly certajn he’ll have a vefy ggood read. I appreciate
    you ffor sharing!|
    Incredible! This blog looks ust like my old one!
    It’s onn a totally different topic but it haas pretty much
    the saqme layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!|
    There’s definately a great deal to learn abut this subject.
    I really like all the pkints you have made.|
    You made some good points there. I checked on the net to learn more about
    the issue and found most imdividuals will go along with your views on tbis website.|
    Hi, I read your new stuff regularly. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep up
    the good work!|
    I just could not go away your web site prior
    to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual info
    a perzon supply to your guests? Is going to be back frequently in order to check up
    on new posts|
    I want to to thank you for this good read!! I absolutely loved
    every little bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to look at new things
    you post…|
    Hi there, just wanted too tell you, I loved this article.
    It was practical. Keep oon posting!|
    Hello, I enjoy rdading through your article. I like to write a little comment tto support you.|
    I every time spent my half an hour to read this blog’s articles all the time along with a cup of coffee.|
    I always emailed this weblog pkst page to all my associates, becaause if
    like to read it then my friends will too.|
    My developer is tryng to convince me to move to .net
    from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of
    the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less.
    I’ve been using Movable-type on a number of websites for about a year and amm
    anxious about switching to another platform. I have
    heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I
    can import all my wordpress content nto it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!|
    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog beefore but after browsing
    through many of the posts I realised it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I discoverd it and I’ll bbe bookmarking it and checking back often!|
    Wonderful work! That is thee type of information that are meant tto be
    shared across the web. Shame on Gogle ffor no longer positioning this publish higher!
    Come on over andd sedk advice from my web
    sit . Thank you =)|
    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useeful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something bwck and help others
    like you helped me.|
    Hi there, I do believe youir blog could possibly be havjng browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website iin Safari, it looks fine but when opeening in IE, it has some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted too provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful
    blog!|
    A person necessarily help to make significantly posts
    I would state. Thhis is tthe very first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I amazed with the analysiks you made to make this actual submit incredible.
    Excellent process!|
    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across thiss board and I in finding It really helpful
    & it helped mee out much. I hope to offer one thig back and aid
    others such as you aided me.|
    Howdy! I just would like to give you a big thumbs up for
    the great info you have here on this post. I’ll be coming bacdk to your blog for more soon.|
    I always uszed to read paragraph in news paers but now as I amm a user
    of net therefore from now I am using net for content, thanks to web.|
    Your mode of describing the whole thing in this
    piece of writing is in fact fastidious, all be capable of effortlessly know it, Thanks a lot.|
    Hello there, I discovered your blog by the use off Google whilst looking for a similar subject, youyr site camee up, it seems good.
    I’ve bookmmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply turned into alert to your blog thru Google, aand located that it’s truly
    informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll be
    grateful for those whho continue this in future.
    A lot of people will likely be benefited out of your writing.

    Cheers!|
    I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re utilizing?

    I’m experiencing some minor security issues with myy latest blog and I’d like to find something moire secure.
    Do you have any solutions?|
    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with tthe layout on your
    blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?Either way keewp upp the excellent quality writing, it’s rare
    to see a great blog like this one nowadays.|
    I’m really inspired with your writing abilkities and also with the layout in your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it your self? Either way stay up the
    excellent quality writing, it is uncomon to see a great blog
    like this one today..|
    Hi, Neat post. There iss a problem along wih your web site in web explorer, may check this?
    IE nonetheless is the market chif and a good
    seection of other people will miss yojr fantastic writing due to this problem.|
    I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent information I was loooing for this info for my mission.|
    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things
    to improve my site!I suppose its ok to uuse a few of your ide\

    Like

  2. I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will bee much more useful than ever before.|
    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Well written!|
    I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or newsletter
    service. Do you’ve any? Please let mee understand so
    that I may subscribe. Thanks.|
    It is appropriate time to mak some plans for the
    future and it iis time to bee happy. I’ve read this post
    and if I couild I wish to suggest you few interesting thinbgs or tips.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!|
    It’s the best time to make a few plans for the uture and it is time to bee happy.

    I’ve read this post and if I may just I want too recommend you few interesting issues orr
    suggestions. Perhaps yoou can write subsequent articlees regarding this article.

    I desure to read more things about it!|
    I’ve been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours lately, yet I byy
    no means discovered any interesting article like yours. It’s beautiful price enouugh for me.
    Personally, if all web ownjers and bloggers
    made just right content material as you did, the internet
    will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue concerning this piece of writing at
    his place at this blog, I have read all that, so now me
    also commenting at this place.|
    I am sure thi piece of writing hhas touched all the internet users, its really really nice paragraph on building up new blog.|
    Wow, this article is pleasant, my younger sister
    is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am goinbg to conveey her.|
    bookmarked!!, I like your blog!|
    Way cool! Some veery valid points! I appreciate youu writing this post plus thhe rest of the ssite is
    very good.|
    Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉
    I may come back once again since I saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.|
    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A loot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance.
    I must say you have done a great job with this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera.

    Outstanding Blog!|
    These are really enormous ideas in concerning blogging. You have touched some nice things here.
    Any wayy keep up wrinting.|
    I really likle what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and
    reporting! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to our blogroll.|
    Hi! Someoe iin my Facebook group shared this website with uss so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweweting this to my followers!

    Exceptional blog and great style aand design.|
    I really lije what you gus are up too. This type of
    clever work and coverage! Keep upp the great works
    guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.|
    Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re
    working with? I’m planning tto start my own blog
    soon bbut I’m having a difficult time deciding betwedn BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something completely
    unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic bbut I had to ask!|
    Hi there would yoou mind letting me know whihh web host
    you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers annd I must say this
    blpog lads a lot fawster then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at
    a honest price? Thank you, I appreciate it!|
    I lve it when people get together and share opinions. Great
    site, continue the good work!|
    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how
    cold we communicate?|
    Howdy just wanted too give you a quiick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Ie.

    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with
    internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d postt to llet you
    know. The layout look great though! Hope yyou get the problem resolved soon. Kudos|
    This is a topic which is near to my heart… Manyy thanks!
    Exactly where are your contact degails though?|
    It’s very easy to find out anyy topic on web as compared to books, as I found this post at thhis site.|
    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shgoot you an email.
    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing.

    Either way, great website and I look forward to
    seeing it grow over time.|
    Hey there! I’ve been reading your web site ffor a while now
    and finally got the courage to go ahead annd give you a shout out from
    Houston Texas! Just wwanted to tell you keep up the great job!|
    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone
    during lunch break. I realoly liuke the inormation yoou present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways,
    wonderful site!|
    Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to know
    so much ablut this, suxh as yoou wrote the guide
    in it or something. I feel that you simply could do with some percewnt tto power the message homme a little bit, buut other than that, that is great blog.
    A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.|
    I visited several web pages however the audio feature for audio songs current at this websife iis truly superb.|
    Hi, i read your blog from time to time andd i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you
    get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?

    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very mych appreciated.|
    Greetings! Veryy helpful acvice inn this particular article!
    It’s the litle chanes that make the largest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!|
    I really loove your blog.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you develop this wweb site yourself?

    Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own website and would love to know where you got this from or what the theeme is called.

    Thanks!|
    Hello there! This article couldn’t be written any
    better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous
    roommate! He continually kept talking about this.I mostt
    certainly will forward this information to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a great read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!|
    Whoa! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a
    totally different topic but it has pretty much the samme laayout annd design.
    Great choice of colors!|
    There is definately a lot too learn about this issue.
    Ilike all the points you’ve made.|
    You mad some really good points there. I checked on the net ffor more info about the issue and found moat people will go
    along with your views on this site.|
    Hi, I check your blogs daily. Your writing style is witty,
    kerp up the good work!|
    I simply couldn’t goo away your website before suggesting
    that I actually loved the standard info a person supply
    tto your guests? Is gonna be again continuously
    to check out new posts|
    I eed to to thuank you for this excellent read!!
    I defionitely enoyed every little biit of it.
    I have you book marked to check out new stuff you post…|
    Hi, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this post.
    It was practical. Keepp on posting!|
    Hello, I enjoy reading through your article post. I wanted to write a little comment to support you.|
    I constantly spent my half an hor to read this website’s articles or reviews everyday along with a cup of coffee.|
    I for all time emailed this blog post page to all my associates, for the reason that
    if like to read it after that my contacts will too.|
    My programmer iss trying to persuade me to move to .net
    from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because off the
    costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using
    WordPress on a variety of websites for about a year
    and am worried about switching to anothrr platform. I
    have heard exfellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import
    all my wordpress contenbt into it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!|
    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after going through many of the posts I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly deligyhted I came across it and I’ll be
    book-marking it aand checking back often!|
    Wonderful work! That iss the kind of information that are supposed to be shared acroszs the net.
    Shame on the search engines for now not positioning this publish upper!
    Come on over and consult with my site . Thanks =)|
    Heya i’m ffor the first time here. I found this board
    and I find It truly useful & it helped me ouut much. I ope to give something back and help others like you aided me.|
    Hi, I think your site could be having web browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in I.E.,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide
    you with a quick heads up! Besides that, fantastic website!|
    Someone essentially lend a hand to make seriously
    posts I might state. This iss tthe very first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I amazed with the research you made to make this particular
    publish extraordinary. Fantastic activity!|
    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I cme across this
    board and I find It truly helpful & iit helped me out a lot.
    I’m hopinjg to present one thing again and aid others like you helped
    me.|
    Goood day! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up
    for the great information you’ve got right here oon this post.
    I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.|
    I every timee used to study article in news papers but now as I am a user
    of internet therefore from now I am using nnet for articles,thanks to web.|
    Your mode of describing all in thgis ppiece of writing is
    in fact good, every one bee capable of without difficulty be aware
    of it, Thanks a lot.|
    Heello there, I discovered your website by way of Google while looking for a rdlated topic, your sitte got here up, iit appears to be like
    good. I have bookmarked it inn my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply was alert to your weblog through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I’m going to watch out forr brussels. I’ll be grateful when youu continue thuis
    in future. Lots of people can be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!|
    I am curious to find out what blog system you have been working with?

    I’m having some small security issues with my latest website and I’d like to find something more secure.
    Do you have any solutions?|
    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anywzy keep up the excellent
    quality writing, iit is rare to see a great blog like this one
    today.|
    I am really impressed together witgh your writing skills
    and also with the structure for your weblog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you
    modify itt yourself? Anyway stay up the nice high
    quality writing, it is rare to peer a nihe weblog like this one nowadays..|
    Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue along with
    your site in web explorer, coud test this?
    IE nonetheless is the market chief and a big section of
    folks will omit your excellent writing due to this problem.|
    I’m not sure where you are getting yoiur information,
    but gold topic. I needs tto spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful information I wass looking for
    this info for my mission.|
    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website
    thus i came to “return thhe favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my weeb
    site!I suppose its okk to use a few of your ide\

    Like

Leave a Reply...

