Trump’s top diplomat pick wins panel vote

_93781534_mediaitem93781528 Mr Tillerson is the former chairman and chief executive officer of Exxon Mobil

The Foreign Relations Senate Committee has narrowly approved Rex Tillerson as US secretary of state, despite concerns about his business ties to Russia.

It split along party lines, with all 11 Republicans voting in favour and all 10 Democrats against. A full vote will now be held in the Republican-run Senate.

The move caps a busy day for the new Donald Trump administration.

Most notable was the US withdrawal from the Trans-Pacific Partnership, fulfilling a campaign pledge.

President Trump signed an executive order to pull out from the 12-nation trade deal that had been a linchpin of former President Barack Obama’s Asia policy.

Great thing for the American worker what we just did,” Mr Trump said.

At the start of his first full week in office, the president also:

Also on Monday, the Senate confirmed Mike Pompeo as Mr Trump’s CIA director.

Mr Pompeo’s immediate task, correspondents say, will be to establish an effective relationship between the spy agency and Mr Trump.

images-3
What happened when Trump met corporate leaders

The president has been critical of the CIA for concluding that Russia had been actively working to influence the US presidential elections in his favour.

In another development, new US Defence Secretary James Mattis said Washington had an “unshakeable commitment” to Nato, despite Mr Trump’s earlier description of the military alliance as “obsolete”.


Trump takes charge

white-house
How Trump spent his first full day as president

The Foreign Relations Senate Committee approved Mr Tillerson after leading Republican Senator Marco Rubio dropped his opposition.

Mr Rubio sparred with Mr Tillerson, a 64-year-old Texan oilmen, during confirmation hearings earlier this month, accusing him of being soft on Russia.

The former head of Exxon Mobil, Mr Tillerson knew Russian President Vladimir Putin as a businessman.

But Mr Tillerson has since criticised Moscow for its annexation of Ukraine’s southern Crimea peninsula in 2014.

Mr Rubio said earlier that although he had doubts over the choice, he believed a new president was entitled to deference in assembling his cabinet.

“Despite my reservations, I will support Mr Tillerson’s nomination in committee and in the full Senate,” said Mr Rubio.

He had challenged Mr Tillerson over his refusal to call President Putin a “war criminal” over Russia’s air strikes in Syria and his failure to condemn strongly enough human rights violations in Saudi Arabia and the Philippines.

Mr Rubio was among the candidates who fought Mr Trump in the battle for the Republican presidential ticket.

The partisan split in the voting is unusual. Traditionally, nominees for secretary of state have been approved by overwhelming votes from both parties.

Senator Ben Cardin, the committee’s top Democrat, said earlier that he would not vote for Mr Tillerson, also over his position on Russia, as well as other issues.

He also suggested that Mr Tillerson’s “business orientation” could “compromise his ability as secretary of state to forcefully promote the values and ideals that have defined” America.

While critics raise concern about his ability to trade in his corporate interest for a national one, some supporters suggest the former CEO’s background as a global dealmaker may bring fresh perspective to the nation’s top diplomatic post.

At a meeting on Monday night, Mr Trump told congressional leaders behind closed doors he would have won the popular vote in the election if millions of undocumented immigrants had not voted illegally.

Democrat Hillary Clinton won nearly three million votes more than her opponent, who got more support in key swing states and won the electoral college.

But any notion of widespread voter fraud was widely rejected as untrue when Mr Trump made the same claim in November.

24 thoughts on “Trump’s top diplomat pick wins panel vote”

  1. I’ve besen browsing online more than threee hours today, yet I
    nesver found aany interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough forr me. In myy opinion, if all website ownerts and bloggers made good content as yyou did, the internbet will bee a
    lot more useful than ever before.|
    I could not resist commenting. Perfectly written!|
    I’llimmediately snatch yohr rss feeed as I can’t find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please let me realize so that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.|
    It is the best time to make some plans for the futufe and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and iif I could I wiish to suggest
    you some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to
    this article. I desire to read even more things abouut it!|
    It is the best time to make a few plans for the longer term and it
    iis time to be happy. I have learn this submit and if I could
    I desire to recommend you some interesting issues or suggestions.

    Perhaps yyou could write next articles referring
    to this article. I wish to learn more thbings approximately it!|
    I have been browsing online greater than 3 hours nowadays, but I nwver discovered any
    interesting article like yours. It’s lovely value sufficient for me.

    In my opinion, if alll website owners and bloggers mmade just right content as you did, the web
    can be much more helpful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its fastidious conversation about this article at this place at this webpage, I havee redad all that, so now me also commenting at this
    place.|
    I am sure this post has touched all tthe internet users, its really really fastidious article onn building up new web site.|
    Wow, this poxt is nice, mmy sister is analyzing these things, ttherefore
    I amm going to tell her.|
    bookmarked!!, I like your blog!|
    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and the rest of the siute is extremely good.|
    Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I wiill revisit once again since I book marked it.
    Money and freedom iss the best way too change, may you be rich and continue to guide othr people.|
    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to
    get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance.

    I muust say you have done a excellent job with
    this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera.
    Outstanding Blog!|
    These are really enormous ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have ouched some nice factors here. Any way keep up
    wrinting.|
    I really like what you guys are usuqlly up too. This kind
    of clever work and reporting! Keep up the terrific woros guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.|
    Howdy! Someone inn my Myspace group shafed this website with us so I came
    to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this
    tto my followers! Outstanding blog and great style and design.|
    I really like what you guys are up too. This type of clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.|
    Hey there would you mind staring which blg platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my ownn blog soon but I’m having a
    hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    Thhe reason I ask is because your lasyout seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologie for getting off-topic but I had to ask!|
    Howdy would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers annd I must say this blog loads
    a lot ffaster then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!|
    Everyone loves it when individuals get together and share
    ideas. Great website, keep iit up!|
    Thannk you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable rom you! By the way,
    how can wwe communicate?|
    Hllo just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in yyour content seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.

    I’m not sure if this is a forkat issue or something to do with web
    browser compatibility buut I thought I’d post to let you know.

    The layout look great though! Hope you gget the
    issue fixed soon. Many thanks|
    This is a topic that is close to my heart… Take care!
    Where are your contact details though?|
    It’s very easy to find out aany topic on net as compoared tto books, ass I
    found thi paragraph at this web site.|
    Doess your site have a contact page? I’m having problems lofating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve goot some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it improve
    over time.|
    Greetings! I’ve been reading yyour website for a long time now and finally got thee bravery to
    go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Texas!

    Just wanted to say keep up the great work!|
    Greetings from California! I’m bred to tears at work so I decided tto check out your site on my iphone during lunch break.

    I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wit to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on mmy cell phone ..
    I’m nott even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, awesome site!|
    Its like you read my thoughts! Yoou appear to grasp so mucch approximately this, such
    as you wrote the book in it or something. I feel
    that you simply could do with some p.c. to pressure the message hose a bit, however other than that,
    this iis magnificent blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.|
    I visited various sites but the audio quality for audio songs present at this web page is really superb.|
    Howdy, i read your blog from time to tme and i own a similar one
    and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so anyy support is
    very much appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very useful adcice in this particuular article!
    It is the little chanves that produce the most important changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!|
    I absolutely love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply back
    as I’m wanting to create my oown blog and wohld love to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is named.
    Appreciate it!|
    Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He always kept preachong abokut this. I wilpl forward this information to him.

    Pretty sure he will have a very good read. Many thanks for sharing!|
    Incredible! This bog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a
    completely different subject but it has pretty much the same
    page layout and design. Great choice of colors!|
    There’s certainly a lot to find out about tis subject.

    I love all the point you’ve made.|
    You made some decent points there. I checkedd on the web to learn more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.|
    Hi there, I log on to you new stucf onn a regular basis.
    Your story-telling style is witty, kedp it up!|
    I just couldn’t go away your web site prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual info a person supply for your guests?

    Is goling tto be back regularly in order to inspect nnew posts|
    I want to to thank youu for this very good read!! I
    absolutely enjoyed every little bit of it. I’ve got you book marked tto look at nnew things
    you post…|
    What’s up, just wanted tto tell you, I enjoyed this
    post. It was funny. Keep on posting!|
    Hi there, I enjoy reading through your post. I wanted to write a littl comment
    to support you.|
    I always spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles or reviews alll the time along with a cup of coffee.|
    I for all time emailed this weblog post page
    to all my contacts, since if like to read it next my
    frienes wll too.|
    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea bechause of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been uswing
    WordPress on a varietty off websites for ahout a year
    and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard great things about blogengine.net.

    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!|
    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but
    after lookng at many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definiyely pleased I came across itt and I’llbe bookmarking it and checking back frequently!|
    Terrific article! Thatt is the kind of information that
    are meant to be shaared aroundd thee net. Disgrace
    on the search engines for not positioning this submit higher!

    Come onn over and seek advice ffom my website . Thank you =)|
    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful
    & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you
    helped me.|
    Hello there, There’s no doubt that youur webb site could possibly be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    Wheenever I take a look at you webzite in Safari,
    it looks fie however, when opening in IE, it has some
    overlapping issues. I simlly wanted to give
    you a quick heafs up! Apart from that, excellent website!|
    Someone essentially help to make critically articles I
    would state. That is the first time I frequented yourr website pqge and so far?

    I amazed with thee research you made to create
    this pqrticular publish amazing. Magnificent task!|
    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came acrfoss this
    board and I in finding It really helpful & it hhelped me out a lot.
    I hope to provide something back aand help others such as you aided me.|
    Hi there! I just want to givve you a huge thumbs up for the excellent
    information you have got right here on this post. I will be coming back to your
    blog for more soon.|
    I always used tto read post in news papers butt now as I am
    a user of web thus from now I am using net for
    articles, thanks to web.|
    Your methood of explaining all in this article is iin fact fastidious, every one can without difficulty be aware of it, Thanks a lot.|
    Hi there, I found your webb site byy way of Google while looking for a comparable
    subject, your web site got here up, it seems to be great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply waas aware of your weblog via Google, andd located that iit
    is really informative. I am going to be careful for brussels.
    I will appreciate in the event you proceed this in future.
    Lots of other people will be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!|
    I am curious to finjd out wat blog platform you have been utilizing?

    I’m experiencing some minor security problems with
    my latest site aand I would like to find something more safeguarded.
    Do you have any solutions?|
    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skilos
    as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a
    great blog like this one tthese days.|
    I’m really inspired together with your writing skills and also with the
    structure on your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you custolmize it your self?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to see a nice blog
    like this oone these days..|
    Hi, Neat post. There is a probem together with your web site in web explorer, may trst this?
    IE still iis the market leader and a big part oof people will miszs your
    wonderful writing ddue to this problem.|
    I am not sure where you arre getting your information, but
    good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.

    Thanks for excellent information I was looking for
    thjs ihfo for my mission.|
    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came too “return tthe favor”.I’m attempting to find
    thing to improve mmy site!I suppose its ok to use some
    of your ide\

    Like

Leave a Reply...

